TRACK Forward: How design influences perception

Hamburg, May 2019: Brand experience was the focus of attention in this, the sixth in the series of thought-provoking TRACK Forward lectures. Felix van de Sand, Managing Director of COBE, drew on many eye-opening examples to illustrate how design codes influence the brand experience. “Interfaces tell stories” was his clear message. This makes it all the more important for a brand to present a coherent brand history across all channels.

It became especially exciting when our guest expert gave us some interesting inside stories and described how a product or service can be positioned as a premium brand, for example, by using certain design signals. Consumers learn, however, in the course of a lifetime, how to decipher certain codes. Van de Sand referred to this as “wisdom gained from experience”. Wine in a classic wine glass, for example, is far more likely to be perceived as being of high-quality. The same wine in a water tumbler will probably come over as cheap and mass-produced.
He put it in a nutshell by saying, “Falling in love with a product is not a rational decision”. Most consumer decisions are based on emotional impressions. And it is more crucial and relevant today than ever to establish the right type of brand emotion – and translate this into a coherent brand experience.

After the presentation, the discussion continued well into the evening at a lively reception, accompanied by wine, snacks and music. TRACK Forward aims to provide an inspiring, thought-provoking platform for discussions on topics such as digitalization, latest industry trends, and innovative developments.

Find out more about TRACK Forward

Previous Post
Short and sweet: bite-size stories to snack on
Next Post
TRACK positions Barmenia as a “human” insurance company

Related posts

WWF

Stop the plastic flood In Germany, the World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF) is best known for its campaigning to protect endangered species and fighting poaching. With its new umbrella…
Read on
Menu

TRACK Forward: Design beeinflusst die Wahrnehmung

Hamburg, Mai 2019: Bereits zum sechsten Mal fand die Innovationsveranstaltung TRACK Forward statt. Im Mittelpunkt des Abends stand das Thema Brand Experience. Felix van de Sand, Managing Director bei COBE, erklärte anhand vieler Beispiele, wie viel Einfluss Design-Codes für das Erleben einer Marke haben. „Interfaces erzählen Geschichten“, so Felix van de Sand. Umso wichtiger sei es für eine Marke, über alle Kanäle hinweg eine in sich stimmige Markengeschichte zu präsentieren.

Spannend wurde es, als der Experte aus dem Nähkästchen plauderte und beschrieb, wie man eine Marke durch bestimmte Designsignale etwa im Premiumbereich positionieren kann. Jeder Verbraucher lernt nämlich im Laufe seines Lebens, gewisse Codes zu entschlüsseln. „Erfahrungswissen“ nannte das van de Sand. Ein Wein in einem klassischen Weinglas beispielsweise werde eher als hochwertiger Wein wahrgenommen. Während der gleiche Wein in einem Wasserglas eher als Massenware daherkommt. „Sich in ein Produkt zu verlieben, ist keine rationale Entscheidung“, brachte es van de Sand auf den Punkt. Entscheidungen von Verbrauchern beruhen auf Prägungen. Und genau die richtigen für eine Marke zu finden und in eine stimmige Brand Experience umzusetzen, ist heute relevanter denn je.

Nach dem Vortrag und einer lebhaften Diskussion wurde bei Wein, Snacks und Musik weitergeschnackt. TRACK Forward will eine Plattform und Diskussionsstoff rund um Themen wie Digitalisierung, Branchen-Trends und innovative Entwicklungen bieten.

Weitere Informationen zu TRACK Forward

Vorheriger Beitrag
Storytelling in 12 Sekunden: TRACK wirbt für HELLO Snack Bites
Nächster Beitrag
TRACK positioniert Barmenia als menschliche Versicherung

Ähnliche Beiträge

HVV

TRACK und der hvv: bessere Kundenzentrierung durch nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit Als Leadagentur e-CRM hilft TRACK dem hvv seit Herbst 2019, von seinen derzeitigen und zukünftigen Abonnent:innen positiv wahrgenommen zu werden. Das…
weiter